"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cookware and Accessories > Cookware

Old 01-01-2009, 11:25 PM   #1
Sous Chef

Cast Iron Restoration Seasoning Project

There have been a couple of threads about CI cookware and talk of smoothe vs machined, Griswold Vs Wagner Vs Lodge discussions of the quality and questions about seanoning so I thought I would share my latest CI Project both to get some input and to illustrate some of these issues. I am not an expert or a real collector I just really like the old iron cookware and think it is terribly underappreciated/utilized

I am currently restoring 3 skillets. 2 are "unmarked" #8 (10.5") skillets I picked up at a fleamarket. The other is my xmas gift to myself a Griswold #12 (13.5")

I will start with the #8s because they illustrate the most. At first glance they are very similar both the same size/style with 2 spouts and a heat ring. Neither has a real "Makers Mark" to help identify origin or age. The following pic are taken after the initial cleaning when the differences came to light.

The first is marked only with a "Z"

The second is marked "Made in USA"

Despite thier similar appearence at closer inspection they are very different in quality.

First the Z skillet:

This skillet was covered in a nasty black crust that was once seasoning. It had a touch of rust. Once cleaned up it showed itself to be a nice skillet.The inside is machined smoothe... smoothe as my Grizwold and the skillet at 5lbs outweighs my Grizwold #8 by a pound

Old 01-01-2009, 11:32 PM   #2
Chef Extraordinaire

Site Moderator

Location: I live in the Heartland of the United States - Western Kentucky
Pancho, unless my imagination is seriously lacking, I don't see any pictures.

Old 01-01-2009, 11:34 PM   #3
Sous Chef

Now for the USA skillet