Cookware for college student?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jammie

Assistant Cook
Hello,

I've been spending the majority of my night researching cookware. I'm in college so I can't afford to spend more than $250 on a 12-18 piece cookware set. I will be using it alot to entertain so the look is important to me as well. I prefer stainless steel. I have a glass top stove so I know the pots and pans need to be flat. I don't believe I'm interested in non-stick because I do tend to use metal utensils to cook and I don't want to scratch the surface. The 1 item I cook the most is hamburgers, lol. So, I'm a little worried that not using non-stick surface would tear apart my burgers.

Any help would be greatly appreciated as I'm a novice when it comes to cookware.

I should also mention that, in case I don't get non-stick, I've thought about buying 1 nonstick pan for eggs.

Last edited by a moderator:
question-did you base your decision to get SS cookware from actually using SS or on reading other's suggestions.

Since you're in college is your kitchen shared by other students (like in a dorm) or are you in your own apartment (and do you have roommates?)? The utensils in shared kitchens - especially dorms - get used, abused and stolen by others.

Do you only need pots and pans or do you need other kitchen stuff?

What kind of cooking do you do? What do you like to eat? How much of your cooking demands the oven as well as the stove top?

How many ppl would you want to entertain and how often? Is the look of your pots and pans really important for entertaining (that is, do you like to have a buffet where ppl serve themselves)?

Lastly, it is unlikely you need a 12-18 piece cookware set. You'll end up with pots you seldom use. Figure out what you need to cook and then spend your budget on that. You'll be able to get better quality cookware that way.