Did I ruin my "nonstick" wok?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Is the pan nonstick?

• Yes

Votes: 1 100.0%
  • No

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

artofcooking

Assistant Cook
So I got a used wok as a gift and they told me that they got it from Macy's and that is nonstick.
The writing on the bottom is barely legible and it says Martha Stewart Collection and something about exclusively for Macy's. Also it is 13 inches in diameter.

However, when I was trying to cook Pad Thai the other day (I am still a new cook), I made a mistake in leaving a pool of oil in the wok for like 10 minutes on medium-low heat. I think this caused burning on the wok.

Anyhow, shortly after this incident, while I was cooking the Pad Thai I burned minced garlic/onion and scraped it hard with my bamboo cookware to break it off while adding in the other ingredients.

After cooking, I scrubbed the wok really hard with a nonscratch net sponge, but still a lot of black gunk remained on the wok. I soaked it overnight in the dish soap and tried again, but still the gunk remained. I then placed water inside the wok and boiled it, hoping this would dislodge the junk, but still no dice.

Finally, I took a spoon and started scratching off the gunk, but stopped as I thought this might ruin the nonstick. I could even see the black color come off and become silver.

Now, my questions are:
1. Is this pan really nonstick?
2. Did I ruin it with leaving the oil burning for like 5 minutes?
3. What should I do? Discard it? Clean it--if so, how?

Thank you!!

Attachments

• 2013-01-20_15-20-35_821.jpg
    2013-01-20_15-20-35_821.jpg
    45.1 KB · Views: 315
  • 2013-01-20_15-20-44_827.jpg
    2013-01-20_15-20-44_827.jpg
    60.6 KB · Views: 277

Now, my questions are:
1. Is this pan really nonstick?
2. Did I ruin it with leaving the oil burning for like 5 minutes?