Do I need to lightly oil a silicone baking mat

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

larry_stewart

Master Chef
I just recently got silicone baking mats to place into a baking sheet to prevent the food from sticking.

Im trying a recipe that calls for lightly spraying a non stick pan with cooking oil prior to baking.

My question is, if Im using a silicone mat, do I need to spray it?

larry

No. I never have and I've been using them for 20+ years. You might also want to reconsider spraying any nonstick surface with a aerosol cooking spray. They can leave a residue, causing the surface to be less effective. If you feel the necessity to lubricate a nonstick surface, brushing it lightly with vegetable shortening or oil would be the better choice.

BTW, the same goes for parchment paper. However, you do have to choose your parchment paper wisely. I have bought two different kinds that had zero non-stick properties.

No. I never have and I've been using them for 20+ years. You might also want to reconsider spraying any nonstick surface with a aerosol cooking spray. They can leave a residue, causing the surface to be less effective. If you feel the necessity to lubricate a nonstick surface, brushing it lightly with vegetable shortening or oil would be the better choice.

I don't even have a can of cooking spray in the house anymore. I hate that gunky residue left on cookware, not to mention spraying oil flying around the kitchen. It's no trouble to use some oil on a paper towel and do it the way our mothers did.

I just recently got silicone baking mats to place into a baking sheet to prevent the food from sticking.

Im trying a recipe that calls for lightly spraying a non stick pan with cooking oil prior to baking.

My question is, if Im using a silicone mat, do I need to spray it?

larry