Have I bought a Stainless Steel Wok?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Distorted Vision

Assistant Cook
I'm just starting to learn to cook chinese food so please forgive me
if my questions seems ignorant.

I just bought a new wok from my local Chinese supermarket. I knew I
should buy a carbon steel wok but I assumed that they would all be
there since they supply local Chinese restaurants etc. They all looked
the same to me and I couldn't even identify the difference in quality
between them so I just chose the most expensive one.

Anyway, when I came to season my wok something did not appear right.
The wok did not turn blueish black when heating the oil with a paper
towels and wooden tongs. It just started go dark brown slowly but not
uniformly eventually turning black in parts. When it came to using the
wok for the first time I was very disappointed with the results. Food
seemed to burn easily and stick to the bottom.

I have cleaned the wok with a scouring pad and removed all the black
patches. I believe I have in fact purchased a stainless steel wok and
not a carbon steel one. When I look at photos of carbon steel woks
they look more darkish grey than bright stainless steel. I have taken
some photos of the wok I purchased. It isn't all shiny as it was when
I purchased. There are some markings in Chinese - I would be interesed
in what they say.

Can anyone please confirm that I have in fact purchased a stainless
steel wok? I paid £22 for mine so its not the end of the world and I
am more interested in learning from my mistakes.

I am looking at purchasing a new one. You will have to Google the terms
in bold because I cannot post links being a new member of this forum.
It is the first link in the search results in each case.

One on Amazon which is 2.0mm carbon steel but it has a flat base:

Amazon.co.uk: Heavy Gauge Carbon Steel Wok 34cm (14"): Kitchen & Home