Need help buying Xmas present please

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

maxinquaye

Assistant Cook
First off; hello everyone! Nice forum you have here...

My girlfriend has *really* gotten into cooking the last few months. I'm a woodworker so I understand that good tools makes a real difference. I'd like to buy her a cookware set for Xmas but have NO idea what makes a good product.

My budget is around $300. If that's not enough for a good set, I don't mind buying her the basics piece by piece (what *are* the basics?). Her stove is an electric coil if that makes a difference.

Thanks in advance for your advice!

Hi, max. Welcome to DC. You'll get plenty of help. You might want to search the cookware forum to see what threads address your question.

However, I would suggest you purchase at least one good piece of cast iron cookware. Probably a skillet. I couldn't live without my cast iron skillet.

Another piece that is extremely useful is a heavy Dutch oven. I have two that are enamel-coated cast iron made by Le Creuset. I use them all the time.

I could go on and on, but I'll step back and let others offer their suggestions. Before long, you'll have more suggestions than you can believe.

I bought an All-Clad 3-quart saute pan a few years ago and use it for practically everything that doesn't go in the oven - and even some things that do :-p I love it. I recently started collecting Le Creuset bakeware, but I'm sticking with stainless steel for stovetop cooking, except I *really* want a Le Creuset Dutch oven (but this isn't about me ;)). HTH.

Does she have a good mixer?

$300 is perfect to get her a Kitchenaid stand mixer. You can get a "classic series" for about $250... (check your local Wal Mart before ordering online, you might not have to pay shipping on it...)

Or you could splurge and get her an Artisan Series model for $350 ish plus shipping.