Please help me find a use for this cooking pan.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Daizymae

Washing Up
At the bottom of my kitchen drawer I found a shiny tin, made-in-France, old cooking dish which I believe is called a QUICHE or TART MOULD with a removable bottom - a flat, thin disk.

This cooking dish has large flutes and flares outwards. That is, at the top it is 8" and at the bottom it is 6.5 inches. This pan is about 2" deep.

I've never used it before, so I tried to make a standard-issue vegetable & egg quiche. The pastry crust stayed stuck to the top of the flutes and I had to carefully carve it out.

Same thing happened with an ordinary cake that I made. I buttered the bottom and sides and sprinkled bread crumbs. The cake rose slightly over level.

Can someone advise, please? What are you supposed to bake in these things so that they'll come out easily? Many thanks. :LOL: Obviously, I don't know what these things were designed for...

So, what is meant by a "tart"? Can you be specific, please. I'm not much of a baker. (I know what "tarts" are...)

A tart is a pastry that usually uses a short crust and is filled. Commonly filled with fruit and pastry cream or a custard of some sort.

strawberry-lemon-tart

If the pan is clean a pie crust should come out without any preparation to the pan. Some people remove them from the pan by setting the finished tart on a 28 ounce can and gently easing the ring down off the tart, the tart itself is supported by the metal disc.

If I was baking a cake in it I would grease and flour the pan or use a Joy of Baking type spray that contains a mixture of fat and flour. Again the pan must me very clean. I often see these older pans at estate sales, many of them have baked on "crud" or little rust spots that can make it difficult to remove the ring.

Take a look.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UWP4DeixeXA