"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cookware and Accessories > Cookware

Old 02-03-2015, 06:00 PM   #1
Senior Cook

Please help me find a use for this cooking pan.

At the bottom of my kitchen drawer I found a shiny tin, made-in-France, old cooking dish which I believe is called a QUICHE or TART MOULD with a removable bottom - a flat, thin disk.

This cooking dish has large flutes and flares outwards. That is, at the top it is 8" and at the bottom it is 6.5 inches. This pan is about 2" deep.

I've never used it before, so I tried to make a standard-issue vegetable & egg quiche. The pastry crust stayed stuck to the top of the flutes and I had to carefully carve it out.

Same thing happened with an ordinary cake that I made. I buttered the bottom and sides and sprinkled bread crumbs. The cake rose slightly over level.

Can someone advise, please? What are you supposed to bake in these things so that they'll come out easily? Many thanks. Obviously, I don't know what these things were designed for...

Old 02-03-2015, 06:04 PM   #2
Master Chef

Sounds like a tart pan

Old 02-03-2015, 06:12 PM   #3
Senior Cook

So, what is meant by a "tart"? Can you be specific, please. I'm not much of a baker. (I know what "tarts" are...)
Old 02-03-2015, 06:45 PM   #4
Master Chef

A tart is a pastry that usually uses a short crust and is filled. Commonly filled with fruit and pastry cream or a custard of some sort.
Old 02-03-2015, 06:47 PM   #5
Master Chef

Old 02-03-2015, 07:10 PM   #6
Wine Guy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daizymae View Post
So, what is meant by a "tart"? Can you be specific, please. I'm not much of a baker. (I know what "tarts" are...)
Try Google:
https://www.google.com/search?q=tart...ed=0CAYQ_AUoAQ
Old 02-03-2015, 07:46 PM   #7
Master Chef