Remove grease stains from a cast aluminum pan

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Human

Assistant Cook
So I'm new to cooking. Had been learning the ropes of cooking since I moved out of the residence in my university and still doing a lot of damages to my cookin utensils.

Here is my problem: How do I remove grease stains from a cast aluminum pan? It isn't just a small grease stain, it's all over the pan. It started off with a rust or discoloration, so I put diluted white vinegar hoping it will remove the stain, but nope.

Secondly, I put veg. oil to season the pan and placed the pan into the oven for an hour and when it came out I could not remove the grease stain. It is sticky to touch instead of a smooth surface you would feel on a brand new cast aluminum pan.

Now the pan is sitting on the stove waiting for me to clean it. The inside of the pan is black and the outside has a greyish covering. I don't know if this will help, but I really, really want to save this cast aluminum pan! I don't want to do anymore damages :( Help!

The grease stain has an appearance of dark brown to light brown depending how long you cooked the oil. Sometimes if you leave oil too long on a frying pan, the oil or grease stain can remain behind.

Maybe I am speaking of an oil stain instead of a grease stain? :unsure: