Some questions about copper cookware

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rodentraiser

Head Chef
Hi everyone. I'm a novice cook and really only started seriously cooking not quite 18 months ago. I mean, I knew how to do a grilled cheese sandwich and boil water, but that was about it.

Anyway, my old Teflon frying pan had started to lose its Teflon, so I decided to replace it. Then I decided to get all new cookware (who am I kidding? I just had two other old and cheap sauce pans). I began by looking at copper cookware, but it was way, way, WAY out of my financial league. So I was going to settle on a nice stainless steel cookware set by Kirkland from Costco.

Right before I bought it, I checked Craig's List one more time to see if I could find a used set, and lo and behold, someone was offering a copper cookware stainless steel lined set for the same price as the Kirkland set at Costco. On impulse, I bought it. And I don't know how to cook with stainless steel, let alone copper.

What I have is an old (1976) Revere Ware set. My first question is, am I cooking with copper or stainless steel, since the inside is lined with stainless steel? If I get on a 'How to cook with copper" article and they talk about cooking with copper pans that are tin lined, is that going to be different?

How often would I have to polish this set to keep it looking nice? Once a week? Once a month?

Does anyone here know if this cookware is oven safe and if so, to what temperature? Likewise the lids.

I have a fish pan - what would I use that for?

I also got something with the set called a zabaglione (from Bazaar from de la Cuisine - it's not Revere Ware). It has no lining and is supposedly for melting butter. I have no problem melting butter and chocolate over a low heat in a regular pan, so should I keep this?