Stainless Steel cookware

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

EEstrada

Assistant Cook
Hello everyone. I'm fairly new to the cooking world. My major is dietetics with a minor in culinary arts. Me and my fiancee recently purchased a 7-ply stainless cookware set. I've been trying them out for about a week. I have several questions to ask you pros:

1) I noticed that after making steak and some chicken breasts, there was an outline staining of the meats. It looked like water spots. I could not take it off w/normal soap and hot water. I had to use bar keepers friend to do the trick. But I don't want to do this everytime. Are these stains normal, am I preheating too high/long? Someone mentioned to me about seasoning while the meat is cooking, instead of seasoning before hand because the salt can stain the pan?

2) I noticed the bottom of the pans turned into a light brown color. Is this normal? I know bar keepers friend takes care of this. How often should I use this cleanser? 2x per month? 1x per week?

3) Are there any special types of sponges you all use? Brand names that are good? I know not to use harsh sponges like steel wool etc... Is there any difference between a $3 sponge vs. a .75cent sponge?

Thank you for any feedback!:chef:

Last edited:
Ok, the shadow line you are seeing may well be from the salts. It is not a big deal, only cosmetic and as you discovered, BKF took it off. Season after the pan is up to temp, add your oil and then the meat and then season. The brown on the outside shoudl be cleaned off after each use because it will become a carbon black crust over time and be very difficult to take off.

When you remove the meat from the pan - pour off any grease in the pan and deglaze with 1-2 cups of water if your not going to be making a pan gravy/sauce.