"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cookware and Accessories > Cookware

Old 10-24-2010, 03:40 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

What type of frying pan to get?

I'm looking to buy a half decent frying pan and I have no clue what to look for. I'm pretty new to cooking but learning and I just want to know what would be best. I would like to spend as little as possible really but I want something that is good quality, that will last and improve my cooking but which is good value. Thanks.

Old 10-24-2010, 03:44 PM   #2
Certified Pretend Chef

Hi Enrique. Welcome to DC.

As a versatile all around pan, nothing beats a cast iron skillet. You can get a 12" pre-seasoned skillet from Lodge for about $20-$25. It will last forever, is oven-proof and can be used for all kinds of dishes/foods.

Old 10-24-2010, 04:10 PM   #3
Assistant Cook

Hi, thanks. Lodge are American though and I'm English, I think you can buy online but does anyone know if they sell in England or where best to buy from? Or any other brands worth looking at? Cheers
Old 10-24-2010, 04:14 PM   #4
Master Chef

Having had to start kitchens from scratch a few times in my life, I always start with the largest, heaviest, flattest-bottomed nonstick skillet. You can almost always make a larger skillet do instead of a smaller one, but not the reverse. They're usually relatively inexpensive. This workhorse can do almost anything from frying up a steak to stir fries to paella to bacon and eggs. Eventually I buy something of higher quality, but this one piece of equipment has worked on all kinds of stoves and all kinds of circumstances in my many moves. The one I have now is a Circulon Millenium. I have more expensive skillets that I do use, but this one gets used several times a week.
Old 10-24-2010, 05:02 PM   #5
Certified Pretend Chef

Quote:
Originally Posted by Enrique3 View Post