What type of frying pan to get?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Enrique3

Assistant Cook
I'm looking to buy a half decent frying pan and I have no clue what to look for. I'm pretty new to cooking but learning and I just want to know what would be best. I would like to spend as little as possible really but I want something that is good quality, that will last and improve my cooking but which is good value. Thanks.

Hi Enrique. Welcome to DC.

As a versatile all around pan, nothing beats a cast iron skillet. You can get a 12" pre-seasoned skillet from Lodge for about $20-$25. It will last forever, is oven-proof and can be used for all kinds of dishes/foods.

Hi, thanks. Lodge are American though and I'm English, I think you can buy online but does anyone know if they sell in England or where best to buy from? Or any other brands worth looking at? Cheers

Having had to start kitchens from scratch a few times in my life, I always start with the largest, heaviest, flattest-bottomed nonstick skillet. You can almost always make a larger skillet do instead of a smaller one, but not the reverse. They're usually relatively inexpensive. This workhorse can do almost anything from frying up a steak to stir fries to paella to bacon and eggs. Eventually I buy something of higher quality, but this one piece of equipment has worked on all kinds of stoves and all kinds of circumstances in my many moves. The one I have now is a Circulon Millenium. I have more expensive skillets that I do use, but this one gets used several times a week.

Hi, thanks. Lodge are American though and I'm English, I think you can buy online but does anyone know if they sell in England or where best to buy from? Or any other brands worth looking at? Cheers

I don't know if Lodge is available in the UK. Check your local outlets and online vendors.

Lodge in the UK