Which cookware to buy for stir frying?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

artofcooking

Assistant Cook
So, I am looking to replace a nonstick pan, which I have introduced many small scratches into.

Doing some online research, I have decided to go with stainless steel because it should last me a lifetime and I do not want the health risks of nonstick. I also want to buy on Amazon, so that I can see the reviews.

What type of cookware should I get (pan, skillet, wok)? Currently, I own two stainless steel pots (one big, one small). Also, I primarily have been using my nonstick pan for Pad Thai, stir frying vegetables, and fried egg. Then again, I am still a 1-2 years cooking newbie, so I am sure there are many recipes to come in future (you guys would have a better sense of this :angel:).
Also, it would be nice if it works in the oven and I want it to fit my electric stove, which has the largest burner being 7 inches in diameter.

Also, I am ready to spend good money, as I value quality and hope to have this last me for a lifetime!:chef:

PS: If you have any specific Amazon recommendations, please do post the link.

I do not have an Amazon recommendation because they compete with me after I post products on their site. But I do have stainless steel recommendations. The best that I have found is a German product from Fissler with a close second being products from BergHoff - both leaders in Europe but not so well know in the US. If these are not to your liking, I can provide some recommendations for better know brands in the US.

Last edited by a moderator:
I you are looking for a pan particularly suited for stir-fry, then you should consider a wok. The shape if perfect for stir-fry. High heat can be concentrated on the bottom but diffuses quickly up the curved sides. This very well suited for the quick heat cooking of meats and vegetables.