Yet another cast iron question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

shannon821

Assistant Cook
Hi guys! Im new to DC but have been lurking for awhile. Ive searched all topics about Cast Irons and my answer wasnt answered so here I am!!

I was recently given a cast iron 10in I dont think its a good brand name but,thought Id try it out anyway. I seasoned it with vegetable oil at 300 for an hour. When I took it out and let it cool to room temp it was sticky to the touch. This is my 1st cast iron ive owned not sure if this is how its supposed to feel. Ive used my mother in laws cast iron in the past and hers doesnt feel this way but hers is very very old...

Thanks in advance guys!!

That generally happens when you use too much oil. You might want to wash it with soap and try again.

I would recommend using crisco instead of veggie oil as veggie oil can go rancid.

Just get the pan warm then wipe on a think film of criso, making sure to cover every surface inside and out. Put it in the oven upside down (so the fat does not pool up and cause the stickiness) and bake at 350 for an hour. Turn off the oven and let the pan cool overnight.

It's also a problem with oil that didn't cure fully. In my experience, I've found 300 too low a temperature for seasoning cast iron.

Here's a rambling FAQ that discusses a high heat seasoning method I prefer:
It's written for cast iron dutch ovens, but the seasoning details apply to all cast iron.

http://www.iliveoutdoors.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=143

thymeless

thymeless said:
It's also a problem with oil that didn't cure fully. In my experience, I've found 300 too low a temperature for seasoning cast iron.

I agree with thymeless. We cook with cast iron a lot, both in the kitchen and outdoors with camp Dutch ovens. We've found the high temp seasoning method (450°F) gives us the best results.