Yet another Cast Iron Skillet question- or 3

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Quicker Thinker Upper

Assistant Cook
Sorry guys, I'm new to the whole cast iron thing. So far I really like it, especially the no-cleaning part :ROFLMAO: Well, I should really say "minimal cleaning" shouldn't I?

Anyway, after I cook in my cast iron skillet, i wipe out the inside with a paper towel and water. I then wipe some veggie oil on the inside, also using a paper towel.

I guess I have 3 questions, really.

1) from reading other posts just a minute ago, I think I might be skipping a step between cleaning with water and putting oil in the pan....am I supposed to dry the pan on the stove before putting oil in? I've just been drying with a towel...

2) The REAL reason I decided to post...what do you guys use to spread oil in the pan? I've been putting a dime-sized to a nickel-sized amount of oil in the pan and wiping with a paper towel. However, it seems like lint from the paper-towel is sticking to the pan in certain spots...Mostly this occurs in some rough spots around the sides. Do you have a suggestion for a lint-free alternative? Maybe cheese cloth or something? I'd hate to have to keep an oily rag lying around just for this purpose, but I suppose I'll have to if that's the case, rather than have lint stick to the pan, only to burn next time I cook...

3) When I clean the pan after cooking, I try to not get water anywhere except for the inside of the pan. Of course though, sometimes the rest of the pan (like the bottom, or other places on the outside of the pan) get wet as well...do you guys put oil on the outside of the pan as well?

As always, you all are a wealth of information and I thank you :LOL:

Dry the cleaned pan on the stove and oil it while it's still hot/warm. Don't worry about the lint, it will wipe out.