8" or 10" for 1st Chef's Knife?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

8" or 10" for 1st Chef's Knife?

• 8" model

Votes: 9 52.9%
  • 10" model

Votes: 8 47.1%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

TripleB

Assistant Cook
After only cooking a couple items I've already decided that I love to cook. Too bad it too me 43 years to finally try it...thank you Food Network for getting me interested.

Anyway, for my first Chef's knife, should I go with an 8 inch model or a 10 inch model (it will be a Victorinox due to just starting and my budget)?

I'm 6'2" which seems to indicate I should probably go with the 10" model. But right now I'm using a 7", very dull, santoku knife (at least that's what it looks like) and it seems pretty large. :)

Thanks for all your previous input....it has helped a tremendous amount.

TripleB

Last edited:
Well, I'm a pro cook and my views are probably biased towards that but I think a 10" is the better choice. A 10" will do anything the 8" can do but the opposite isn't true.

I'm not sure how to vote, it depends on what you are using it for. I have both around those sizes and no paring knife. When I am making stuffed jalapeno peppers I grab the smaller one because it is better (for me) for more delicate work. When I am slicing a boneless loin for the freezer, the larger. I had the smaller one first and it wasn't long before I wanted a longer knife. Chopping onions and cubing beef for stew meat I usually grab the larger one. I like the longer slicing motion it gives me.
Hmmm, am I leaning towards the 10"? lol

Well, I'm a pro cook and my views are probably biased towards that but I think a 10" is the better choice. A 10" will do anything the 8" can do but the opposite isn't true.

Rob I certainly respect your opinions, views, experience, etc...but I'm curious...What can a 10 do that an 8 can't....I have both, but constantly reach for the 8..