Another Assistance Request - knife info please

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

green1

Assistant Cook
I am not a professional chef but an amateur that enjoys cooking at home 2-3 times a week. For the last 10 years I have been using a block set of Chicago Cutlery Knives that have been ok but I am ready to get something better. Right now I would like to get a Chef's Knife and cutting board. I will probably also get my parents the same knife as a Christmas gift. They currently have a similar setup to me. I have been doing a lot of research trying to figure out what to buy. I have read countless threads here and elsewhere. Went to some local cutlery and kitchen stores but most only carry the larger mainstream brands. I think I want a Japanese Knife and the most that I want to spend is $275 for the knife. I really love banding and mottling look of the Damascus knives but not at the cost of getting a lesser knife. The knives that I am looking at are as follows. Several of which were recommended here in other threads.

Kikuichi Gold Elite Damascus Gyuto 240mm $260

Kikuichi TKC Gyuto 240mm $168

Hattori FH-7 Gyuto 240mm $255 (Currently Sold Out. Still says I can add to cart though)

Hattori HD-8 Gyuto 240mm $191

Misono UX 10 Chef Knife 240mm $223

Shun Elite 10" Chef's Knife $240 (Can get 20% off at local BBB but currently out of stock)

I love the look of the Gold Elite and the HD. Whichever knife that I choose I will probably keep forever. Next year I will probably pick up a paring knife. Preferably of the same brand. Any input or suggestions for cutting boards or knives would be greatly appreciated.

BTW, as far as cutting boards go, I want a 20"x15" board. My thinking for this size is that I can put it over the sink while I am using it but still have it small enough that I can rinse it off in my sink.

I'll talk chopping boards and let other talk J-knives.