"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cookware and Accessories > Knives

Old 07-19-2007, 11:34 AM   #1
Assistant Cook

Beginner's Knife Set

Hi there everyone, I'm very new to DC so please excuse this post if it's a duplicate.

What would you recommend for a good beginner's knife set? I'd be looking to spend around $40-60 but am not very experienced when it comes to brand names or what to look for. Thanks!

Old 07-19-2007, 11:37 AM   #2
Certified Pretend Chef

First of all, don't buy a set. You only need about two or three knives to get the job done. Go to a knife shop or kitchen store and handle knives. Get the feel and decide which is most comfortable in your hand.

Read earlier posts in this forum (knives) for some great low cost suggestions.

Old 07-19-2007, 11:58 AM   #3
Head Chef

Send a message via AIM to keltin
Andy’s right, you don’t need a whole set to start with. Heck, I’ve got a full set, and I only use one knife from it regularly which is the Chef’s Knife.

The paring knife get’s it’s fair share of use.

So, to start I’d suggest buying a good Chef’s Knife and perhaps a paring knife. Also, get some steel (a steel rod that you use to hone, not sharpen, your blade).

Also valuable to begin with is a good set of kitchen shears and a utility knife. The shears should be fairly heavy as you will want to cut through small bones for things like butterflying a whole chicken. Separating whole chicken wings is also easily done with sheers.

Personally, I have an inexpensive Ginsu type knife (got it from some guy doing a demo at Sam's) that I use for tough utility type jobs like cutting milk jugs, chicken backs, frozen food, etc.

Of course, you’ll be faced with where to store them, so you’ll want to consider a block. Also, a set of steak knives are a must.