Has anyone tried the Cuisinart Arista set?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kitchengoddess8

Sous Chef
I want to get a decent set of knives but don't want to spend a lot of money on one at this time. I'm a newbie at cooking so I don't need a professional set of knives, just basic functionality.

I saw this Cuisinart 11-piece set on Amazon and was intrigued because it got great reviews. It looks like it would be attractive in my kitchen as well :)

http://www.amazon.com/Cuisinart-11-Piece-Collection-Cutlery-Stainless/dp/B00MUZSFSW#Ask

Would love to hear if anyone has used this set or has any thoughts about whether it would be a good choice.

Last edited:
I would not get it because the handle looks too large to fit my hand. I think you should find this in the store and try the fit before you buy.

I would look very closely at the steel used in those knives. At that price point I doubt that it could be very good and will probably not hold an edge very well.

The way the knives sit on edge in the block will dull them pretty quickly.

The general advice from experienced cooks on this forum is to go to a store that sells quality knives and handle them. It's important that it feels comfortable in your hand. And knife sets are generally not a good buy. You usually end up using two, maybe three, out of the set. Just buy what you need.

Thanks everyone! Sounds like I need to make a trip to the store and see what they have. Bed Bath and Beyond has an okay selection. Sur La Table might be better. I don't know what types of knives I would need to have the basics. Does anyone have recommendations?

Most of us recommend against buying a set.

The basic requirements are generally considered to be:

A chef's knife or santoku for slicing, chopping, etc.
A paring knife for small hand work.
A serrated bread knife.