"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cookware and Accessories > Knives

Old 10-16-2005, 03:58 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Hot knives

Hello everyone, I am an industrial design student thinking of designing an electrically heated kitchen knife. My problem is im an no chef and have little knowledge of this field. I would be extremly grateful to know if anyone here has ever used a heated knife.

If so was it any good? Are they any obvious reasons why you wouldn't want to use one, or any general comments on the subject would great.

I suppose the biggest question i need to pose though is, if there was a knife that heated extactly the way you wanted, would you bother buying one?

Thanks for your time.

Old 10-16-2005, 06:49 PM   #2
Executive Chef

What would be the benefits of using a heated knife? I've never heard of that, but I'm only a cook at home.

Old 10-16-2005, 07:02 PM   #3
Executive Chef

The only benefit of a heated knife that I could see would be to cut frozen foods. But, since you'd have to let the majority of frozen foods defrost anyway in order to cook properly, you may as well do that and then cut it with a normal knife.
Old 10-16-2005, 07:09 PM   #4
Head Chef

ditto to what licia said. But I am a known gadget freak, so would love to come across one to try.
Old 10-16-2005, 08:11 PM   #5
Executive Chef

When I cut lots of cheese at work for a cheese tray, I like to run the knife I'm using under hot running water. This serves two purposes: 1) Heats the blade enough to help cut the cheese. 2) Moisture helps to lubricate the knife as it cuts the cheese.

That's the only reason why I could think of someone wanted a heated knife. Since I want it wet as well as warm, I'd rather just take a regular knife and run it under water.
Old 10-16-2005, 10:29 PM   #6
Chief Eating Officer