I bought a new knife.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Chico Buller

Washing Up
I am now awaiting a Tojiro Damascus Vegetable Knife Kakugata Nakiri Hocho.

All of the right stuff, it should be a dynamo in the kitchen.

Buzz, this is all your fault. I saw the beauty you just sharpened, and I went out and bought my own.

I hope it's sharp...

...um...you do know that I am in a long-time exclusive relationship with a Harley-Davidson, don't you...

Besides, I haven't even received the nakiri.

I learned last night that this new knife has been shipped to me by FedEx. There's a possibilty that it will arrive here within the hour.

Now, I'm an old hand on hobbyist forums and biker get-togethers, but this is my first entry into a cooking and kitchen forum.

What are the main ideas and interests to the members here when someone gets a new knife?

Do they want the knife to complete a recipe? Do they just want a sharpening and picture because they already know how to cook?

I'd like to have this be a fun project.

That new nakiri I bragged about...

...arrived bent.

img_667846_0_941394e231d242906c144be775f26667.jpg

Man, that really stinks. When you buy aomething new and special, you want it to be perfect.

I suppose hitting it with a hammer is out of the question...:innocent:

Yes, "cold bending" is something you don't want to try with hardened steel. I ordered a replacement, and I kept this one. Oooh, it slices so nice...

img_667868_0_5d8c1f52b4927397d253829c388ab469.jpg

Help arrives!

I am also a member of KnifeForums, there I am known as "The Tourist."

There is a kitchen section there, but many of the members are veteran knife sharpeners, cooks and sword polishers. I also posted my problem with the nakiri there.