ISO Custom knife maker

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
I am not a really well trained cook by any means, I can make do but that isn't the basis of my question. I am a geologist, and as such I have quite a few rocks just sitting around, that I have collected from around the globe. I have seen some things floating around the interwebs about getting handmade handles for knives.

My fiance is a chef graduating from the culinary school next spring, and I want to give her a hand made knive set with custom handles. It won't be a surprise, because she is giving me the info I need to what she actually needs.

Does anybody know of any place that can do this? I don't even know if it would work, but it would be awesome if it could be done. Money isn't too much of an issue, I have been saving like crazy since I bought the engagment ring, so if anybody knows anything, I would be delighted to know.

Thanks for your help, or whatever, thanks for looking even if you can't help :P

T.F.T.

Would she prefer stainless or non? I can lead you to several custom Japanese bladesmiths and also to some unbelievable custom handles once you receive the knife. Also, the handle itself, Western or traditional Japanese style round or octanganal?

Buzz

I think she uses either octagonal or western style handles, and I think she would prefer stainless steel, but I don't want to give too much away :p What would you suggest?

I think she uses either octagonal or western style handles, and I think she would prefer stainless steel, but I don't want to give too much away :p What would you suggest?