Questions about a second knife

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kaempfer0080

Assistant Cook
I recently got a Togiharu G-1 Gyutou and I love it. Thing is, it's the only good knife I have. As versatile as a chef's knife is, I do need something smaller. To me, this is a problem. I'm not a professional so I can't say that I've had hands on experience with many knives, and I don't know the uses of all the many kinds of knives there are.

Basically, what I want is a knife for breaking down chicken, peeling onions, cutting green beans, trimming, that kind of small handwork. This leads me to wonder, do I need a paring knife, a utility knife, or a petty? I've also been considering a small ceramic knife which is a whole new argument. Any suggestions?

>>suggestions

I suspect you'll get a lot of that [g]

the tasks you mention don't "fit" well into one single knife design/size.

I rarely buy anything but whole chicken - and I'm fond of my boning knife for reducing whole to parts. it's thin, it's stiff, has a nice point. didn't always have a boning knife - used a 6 or 8 inch chefs knife. I use kitchen shears to cut out the back bone.

beans and dicing - I like the santuko style. there is more "flat" to the blade for a given length. the traditional one-sided bevel cuts easily/cleanly. it's wide tho, so for peeling an onion it's a bit awkward - but if I have it in hand, I use it.

a 4 inch paring / utility knife is not a bad tool to have on hand.

ceramics are nice - but they are brittle - there's a danger of chipping it working around bones. not so much on poultry - but beef bones are harder.....

Yeah it's tough, I don't have a thousand to spend on a few knives so I'm trying to fill the gap temporarily. I was just browsing Korin again and it only made things worse. Honesuki, Hankotsu, Garasuki, Petty, Boning, Paring, and Utility all qualify somewhere.