"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cookware and Accessories > Knives

Old 07-18-2008, 01:51 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Sabatier - ****Elephant Chef Knife

Any opinions on Sabatier Thiers-Issard ****Elephant 10" chef knife? So far i ve been using German/German Style knives and am used to the "rocking" style of cutting. Does the French shape of the blade affect the style of cutting?
I do have some sentimental reasons to consider Sabatier and this is a case of wanting it rather than needing it, however i do want to be able to use it on everyday bases. Also I am a home cook and my purely "cutting" needs are rather small - i ussually prepare food for 2 to 8 people at the most. Please share your experiences with this brand and can u recommend certain internet vendors (not sure if u can do this on DC)?
Thank you.

Old 07-18-2008, 04:49 PM   #2
Master Chef

NOTE: for those who are wondering ... the **** is not a word censor gotcha'. Thiers-Issard have been hand-crafting knives in Thiers, France, under the Sabatier brand with the **** Elephant logo.

Old 07-28-2008, 01:41 PM   #3
Sous Chef

Quote:
Originally Posted by chessplayer View Post
Any opinions on Sabatier Thiers-Issard ****Elephant 10" chef knife? So far i ve been using German/German Style knives and am used to the "rocking" style of cutting. Does the French shape of the blade affect the style of cutting?
I do have some sentimental reasons to consider Sabatier and this is a case of wanting it rather than needing it, however i do want to be able to use it on everyday bases. Also I am a home cook and my purely "cutting" needs are rather small - i ussually prepare food for 2 to 8 people at the most. Please share your experiences with this brand and can u recommend certain internet vendors (not sure if u can do this on DC)?
Thank you.