"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Outdoor Cooking Forum > Gear: Grills, Smokers & Pits

Old 09-23-2010, 08:39 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Question Smoking for first time?

I recently bought a Masterbuilt electric smoke house and have some questions on using it. My first question is, after preseasoning it when can I start cooking with it? Do I need to use water every time and how much? Do i put the meat or whatever I am cooking in before i turn it on? And where should I have the air damper? As you can see I am new to this so I thank you for any and all answers.

Old 09-24-2010, 05:26 AM   #2
Admiral of the Texas Navy

Quote:
Originally Posted by DC24 View Post
I recently bought a Masterbuilt electric smoke house and have some questions on using it. My first question is, after preseasoning it when can I start cooking with it? Do I need to use water every time and how much? Do i put the meat or whatever I am cooking in before i turn it on? And where should I have the air damper? As you can see I am new to this so I thank you for any and all answers.
Howdy! Welcome to DC.

Is this what you bought? The unit is probably ready to use after pre-seasoning.

Water smoking is used primarily for cooking delicate foods like shellfish or cheese but can be used when preparing other foods if a moister product is desired. In my opinion dry smoking is best for traditional BBQ because it produces better "bark".

The damper is used to regulate the amount of available oxygen which in turn regulates the rate the wood burns. This adjustment helps the wood smolder and burn slowly which creates smoke rather than burn quickly creating heat and not much smoke. You'll have to adjust it while the wood is burning.

If you get serious about using this cooking method you really need one of these. Bringing smoked foods to proper temperature is key to food safety and helps you refine your process.