Also a Total Newbie with questions about Figs and jam

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ValeriGail

Assistant Cook
I have a Fig tree that is producing like crazy. I've got figs coming out of my walls! So far, We've been Harvesting twice a day, filling one of those plastic easter buckets each time. I think Today is day 5, and it finally looks to be slowing. We might have a full bucket this evening, but I'm guessing at half. Then there are tons of little ones that will be ready sometime later this month.

I started making Strawberry Jam with them last night. I am not big on the fig taste, plus these aren't super sweet due to the texas drought I'm guessing. They are HUGE. The Jam turned out great, but being my first time I messed up quite a lot. It eventually set and we got it in the jars. We only did one patch of 3 cups berries/ 3 cups figs last night. I still have baskets and baskets of figs to do!

Anyway.. on to my questions... what other flavors/fruits can I add to the figs? Do any of you have a tried and true recipe that other's love? Can I use blackberries instead of strawberries? (I love blackberry jam!). What options do I have with all these figs. I don't want to jar up a 100 cans of strawberry jam.

The other big question... which brand of pectin is the best to use? I used sure jell last night. I ended up with a box and a half in my patch that made three pint size jars. Is that correct?

This is a lot of work, but I've got to say... I'm enjoying every minute of it. Tasting that jam this morning and hearing my daughter tell me it was the yummiest ever made my year. :)

We usually dry some figs for use in cakes and cookies and lately, I have been eyeballing some middle eastern and North African recipes that utilize fruits such as figs. Haven't actually tried any yet....just eyeballing them.