Avgolemono

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

myrab51

Assistant Cook
I was wondering if it is safe to can avgolemono soup. The ingredients are chicken broth, lemon juice, rice, egg, and shredded chicken. If so, how would it be processed? I searched all over Google, but couldn't find anything specific. I am not experienced enough to wing it.

I was wondering if it is safe to can avgolemono soup. The ingredients are chicken broth, lemon juice, rice, egg, and shredded chicken. If so, how would it be processed? I searched all over Google, but couldn't find anything specific. I am not experienced enough to wing it.

As an alternative, consider freezing the soup before adding the egg and lemon (plain old chicken soup). Then reheat and add the egg and lemon.

We actually do a lot of freezing as well.

I mainly want to can it so it will be easy for my kids to pour and heat. We are constantly running with band, clubs, and other activities. There are nights that we need meals that only take a few minutes to deal with and eat so we can get back out the door.

This soup just happens to be my younger daughter's favorite, so I was hoping to be able to jar some up for her. :)

If there is a microwave available wherever she is going, then freezing would be the way to go. Otherwise, go to the Ball Blue Book on canning. You can look for recipes in the following: Recipes

The Ball Blue Book on canning is full of so much information regarding safe storage of foods. I, in a moment of stupidity gave mine away. I have always regretted it and swear someday I am going to get me a new one. Someday. :angel: