Best way to freeze rhubarb?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

larry_stewart

Master Chef
My rhubarb is starting to kick in.
Unfortunately, my strawberries are about 1 month behind.
I read that you can freeze rhubarb for later use, but the instructions vary.

So, my question is, whats the best way to freeze rhubarb for later use ( in the relatively near future)?

I've seen blanching vs not blanching.
Storing in a syrup, fruit juice, or nothing.
All have suggested pre cutting ( which makes sense ).

So, this is my first time working with rhubarb, so I need a little help here.

Thanks.

I wash it, cut it in 1/2 inch pieces, freeze in bags, 2 cups each or as your recipe says.

Never blanch it when I freeze it, when I can it is in a syrup of sugar and rhubarb juices ( the juice the rhubarb releases). Have you ever tried to make Rhubarb cordial?

I never understood rhubarb and strawberry pie, rhubarb is lovely by it self in pies, cakes and other desserts.

Wash, chop, freeze. I've done it for years. If you have a vacuum sealer, even better.

Rhubarb tea is great, just cook up rhubarb for a long time until it gives up its juices, strain, and store in fridge. No sugar or water needed.

Last edited:
Sandwich size freezer bags are perfect for 2 cups of rhubarb (washed,chopped,bagged).

I have several recipes I make with rhubarb and I throw in the frozen as is and they comes out wonderful. Cakes, Bifana (chutney).

But don't defrost before, just throw in frozen! Although I'm sure there must be a recipe that says to defrost, so far I have not come across one.

Yes to wash, chop, freeze. Do not thaw when using.

I cut most in 1/2 inch size and some in finer/ 1/4 inch size for muffins.