Calling All Canning Experts

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Puppy Breath

Assistant Cook
I live right smack-dab in the middle of cajun coun
I found this recipe on the internet and saved it thinking it was a recipe that I could can in a water bath, but I went back and read the directions and it only refers to it keeping in the refrigerator.

Does anyone know if you could process this in a water bath?
I'm new to all of this "canning" stuff and don't want to make a mistake. I've read where you aren't supposed to change recipes, etc.

6 granny smith apples, 4 macintosh, peeled, cored, and chopped
1 large onion, diced
1 16 oz bottle cider vinegar
1 cup apple cider
2 shallots, diced
2 cups brown sugar
2 cups golden raisins
1/4 cup ginger, minced
1 1/2 teaspoon dry mustard
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon dried hot red pepper flakes

In a large stockpot combine the apples, onion, vinegar, apple cider, raisins, ginger, mustard, salt, and red pepper flakes. Bring the mixture to a boil, add sugar and stir until dissolved. Cook mixture over moderate heat, stirring occasionally until thickened about 90 mins. Spoon the chutney into sterilized glass jars leaving a little space on top, and close the lid.
Jam lasts refrigerated up to two weeks.

You need to keep it in the fridge because of the raisins. I used to make an apple currant conserve, and my grandmother made a peach conserve with pecans, and they had to be refrigerated also.

is this a chutney? it sounds good. i have never canned anything before.

constance (may i call you conny?) why can't you can raisins or the peach one?

Here's a similar recipe that mentions canning it, so I would think something like this could be canned.....

Making and Canning Apple, Pear and Golden Raisin Chutney. CanningUSA.COM - A great place to learn home canning!