"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Farm to Table > Canning and Preserving
Click Here to Login

Old 04-08-2018, 02:09 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Canning Black Beans

Hello,
I am new to canning(I have an instant pot that I can use to can with). I just made a bunch of black beans in the pressure cooker and was wondering if it was possible to can them. I have some pint size jars I would like to try out.

I tried looking online but most of the articles seem to deal with canning dried beans and I got the impression they were cooking them while they were canning.

If there is a particular article or something that I can be sent to, that would be great.

Thanks,

Elusiv (David)

Elusiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2018, 02:27 PM   #2
Executive Chef

Elusiv, you are elusive, :)
Recipes that are safe are one's that are tested. Usually I google 'university extension recipes' on google.

Beans can be cooked from raw (unsoaked and unprecooked) in the jar in a pressure canner, but, they often stick together badly, though they are safe and taste great. They are often referred to as 'a brick of beans'. To break them up, rinse them under cold running water before using them, breaking them apart with a spoon or your hands.

Beans can be presoaked, then canned in a jar in a pressure canner.

Beans can partially precooked, then canned in a jar in a pressure canner.

Beans can be both presoaked and then partially precooked, then canned in a jar in a pressure canner.

The usual recommendations are to sanitize the jars/lids/screwcaps, presoak or precook, measure the beans, the salt, the water leaving a headspace of 1/2 inch or 1 inch, pressure canning at specific pressures, depending on the size of the jar and the elevation of your location for a specific amount of time.

As to whether you can use an instapot to pressure can, that I don't know.

blissful is offline   Reply With Quote