Canning Black Beans

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Elusiv

Assistant Cook
Hello,
I am new to canning(I have an instant pot that I can use to can with). I just made a bunch of black beans in the pressure cooker and was wondering if it was possible to can them. I have some pint size jars I would like to try out.

I tried looking online but most of the articles seem to deal with canning dried beans and I got the impression they were cooking them while they were canning.

If there is a particular article or something that I can be sent to, that would be great.

Thanks,

Elusiv (David)

Elusiv, you are elusive, :)
Recipes that are safe are one's that are tested. Usually I google 'university extension recipes' on google.

Beans can be cooked from raw (unsoaked and unprecooked) in the jar in a pressure canner, but, they often stick together badly, though they are safe and taste great. They are often referred to as 'a brick of beans'. To break them up, rinse them under cold running water before using them, breaking them apart with a spoon or your hands.

Beans can be presoaked, then canned in a jar in a pressure canner.

Beans can partially precooked, then canned in a jar in a pressure canner.

Beans can be both presoaked and then partially precooked, then canned in a jar in a pressure canner.

The usual recommendations are to sanitize the jars/lids/screwcaps, presoak or precook, measure the beans, the salt, the water leaving a headspace of 1/2 inch or 1 inch, pressure canning at specific pressures, depending on the size of the jar and the elevation of your location for a specific amount of time.

As to whether you can use an instapot to pressure can, that I don't know.

Hi, Elusiv. Bliss is right - safe canning requires using tested recipes. In the United States, land-grant state universities do the testing. And great place to start is here: http://nchfp.uga.edu