Canning question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Brie

Assistant Cook
Hi,

I was wondering if you put alot of high acid ingredients in with a low acid ingredient if it would balance out?

I'm new to canning.

Thanks

Hi,

I was wondering if you put alot of high acid ingredients in with a low acid ingredient if it would balance out?

I'm new to canning.

Thanks

Brie, welcome to DC.

I'm new to canning too, so I bought the Ball Canning Guide. Several people recommended it as a good place to start. Most places and people with whom I spoke stated that one should be very careful when playing with the acidity of the foods that are canned. I'm sure there must be a formula, but I've not found it so I do hope you get a good answer to your question. I would be curious whether there is a way to check the acidity without a pH kit in order to know how much is 'enough.'

~Kathleen :)

Hi KathleenA

Thanks for the welcome, this is a very handy site.

I have a family anti-pasto recipe that my aunt makes every year. She has never used a pressure canner, but it does have tuna in it. :rolleyes: My only guess is that she puts so much ketchup/vinegar etc. that it brings the acid up to a safe level?? There has to be some logic reason why this works?

Brie

There has to be some logic reason why this works?
The answer is simple, but you are not going to like it. the reason is luck. It is the same as saying that you have driven in a car for 40 years and never once worn a seat belt and never had a problem. Yes it is absolutely possible, but it is a dangerous game to play. I would also recommend getting the Ball Blue Book. It is inexpensive, but LOADED with great important information. You are a new member here. We would like you to be around long enough to enjoy the site :)

Hi KathleenA

Thanks for the welcome, this is a very handy site.