Crab apple canning issues

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Buff

Assistant Cook
Hello all! I am new to canning and am kinda just trying to figure things out as I go. Today I decided to make some crab apple jelly from some crab apples I picked a few days ago and I kept running into problems! Firstly the recipe (from the Ball Blue Book guide to canning) said to juice the apples but when I added the amount of water specified the apple mush became thick and dry and started to burn on the bottom. After adding more water I still ended up about a cup short on juice. When I looked online I found various people added various amounts of water; some added an inch or two, some added enough to submerge the apples. I also wasn't sure how long to let the apples drain of their juices and when I Googled it I again found several differing opinions; some people said a few minutes, some a few hours, some almost a day.

The next part of the recipe called for combining the juice and sugar and letting them gel together. Again I was confused as the recipe simply said "cook to gelling point" but it only specified how to tell when it reaches gelling point. So how do I get there? Do I let it boil? Do I turn the heat down and let it set? Do I stir constantly? Frequently?

So I ask, how much water would/do YOU guys add? How long do you let the apples drain? And how exactly DO I "cook to gelling point"? I'm very confused :wacko:

FYI, even though I didn't end up with the 12 half pints of jelly I was anticipating, I still made enough to fill 8 half pints, plus 3 pints of apple sauce! And I want to make more this week!