Decreasing peppers in salsa?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

blue_cup

Assistant Cook
Hello,

I'm new to canning & recently made some salsa. We followed the recipe, but didn't have enough hot green chili peppers...so instead of adding 4 cups, we only put in 2.

Now I've been doing some reading on unsafe canning and am now worried that this batch of salsa might be potentially unsafe. I've read that you should not increase the amount of peppers called for in a recipe...but what about decreasing it?

Any thoughts?

Thanks!

blue_cup said:
Hello,

I'm new to canning & recently made some salsa. We followed the recipe, but didn't have enough hot green chili peppers...so instead of adding 4 cups, we only put in 2.

Now I've been doing some reading on unsafe canning and am now worried that this batch of salsa might be potentially unsafe. I've read that you should not increase the amount of peppers called for in a recipe...but what about decreasing it?

Any thoughts?

Thanks!
If you use fewer peppers, you'll simply have a milder salsa.I've never heard of MORE hot peppers being unsafe - why would that be?
How much sugar/salt/vinegar/lemon juice are you using?
Could you give us a recipe so we can get a better idea of what you're doing?

blue_cup said:
Hello,

Any thoughts?

Thanks!

The only thing I can think of is that by not adding the 4 cups of peppers, your cutting down on your "head space" whereby you need to come to the top of the jar within an inch in order to get a good seal. You may have problems with your jars sealing. Did your jars seal? They should indent after boiling, or after a cooling time if you poke your finger on the lid.

Thanls for the replies! All of the jars sealed nicely. Here's the recipe we followed:

Tomato Salsa (using paste tomatoes)
Yield: 16–18 pints
7 qt peeled, cored, tomatoes chopped
4 cups seeded chopped, long green chiles :ermm: