Dial Gauge/Weighted Gauge???

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MNTaxi

Cook
I was surfing the WWW looking for canning recipies since I am very new to canning with a pressure canner. I saw this statement and I can't figgure out what one I have? Dial or Weight Guage. What do I set my canner to? 10 or 11lbs?

"Dial Gauge Type @ 11 pounds pressure or Weighted Gauge Type @ 10 pounds pressure."

I have a Presto 23 qt canner. Model # 01781

If anyone could give me some info on this topic I would be greatful. And please can anyone tell me what the difference is and show me some picture examples of each guage. THANKS!

Michelle

You should know whether or not there is a "dial" pressure gauge in the center of your canner lid. The pressure is shown on the gauge and you adjust the stove heat to keep the pressure at a set amount, usually 11 lbs.

The other type has no gauge, just the protruding stem that a 3-piece rocker weight sits on. The weight "rocks" when the correct pressure is reached. The 3-pieces account for 5#, 10# and 15# pressure. 10 lbs is used for canning.

National Center for Home Food Preservation | UGA Publications

Yes, I have a pressure guage in the center of the lid. I also have to adjust the burner heat to adjust the lbs on the guage.

I knew it was probably a stupid question. I have never seen a weight guage on a pressure canner befor. My mom and grandma use to can all the time but think it was mainly with a hot Water Bath canning method.

Thanks a bunch for the clarification.

My concern now is whether or not you had your gauge TESTED before you used it, which is required for safety since it could be as much a 4 lbs off. You also must have it tested again annually.