ISO help/advice cooking jam

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tcseacliff

Assistant Cook
Hey everybody!
I am a complete utter newb, in the canning and jam arena! tried my first hand at making blueberry jam a few months ago,after reading how many fruits have their own pectin, so no need to add any just cook them longer, so off I went! LOVE IT! so far I have made some blue berry ,Strawberry, Raspberry, and a jar of Peach! first adjustment i made was cutting down on the amount of sugar in many recipes! YIKES! I enjoy more tart and taste the nuances of the fruit better.
I have questions on the actual cooking of the jams. boil,simmer etc,? and when to stop? recently , my strawberry preserve I had made for my granddaughter, were a tad loose.? first time ever to be that loose !. when I laid the jars down to send them they moved in the jar! the blueberry sat stiff and nice. re: strawberry. I noticed store bought preserves,have those little tiny red seeds in them, strawberry has more than most. mine does not? is mine wrong , or over cooked? I have not mastered the cool plate thing yet, just been going by how it feels when I am mixing it and how it is when stirring it. eventually i will get better. should certain fruits need some pectin to help?