ISO Turkey Stock recipe for canning

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MNTaxi

Cook
My husband is cooking a turkyinthe oven for Easter Sunday. I read on the forums somehere about boiling the carcas and making a turkey stock. I would hate to waste the carcas if it can be used. I would also like to can the stock if that is possible.

Does anyone have a recipie for Turkey Stock? Also the steps and times for canning? This is a 14lbs Turkey.

Another question I have is . . . . is it safe to make like a turkey soup minus the noodles and can that so all you have to do is make noodles and dump them in the canned soup? Any recipeis and canning information this would be great.

I am sure most are already aware of this from my posts but I am VERY new to cooking and have just recently become interested. Mom use to do all the canning and cooking and I just took it for granted. I also do not have access to my cook books because we just moved so I havn't found them yet. :doh:

Can't help you with canning but most folks freeze turkey (or any other) stock.

Break the bones up into manageable pieces and place in a stock pot. Cover with water plus an inch or so. Add a cut up onion, carrot and celery stock. Also a few cloves of garlic and a dozen peppercorns.

Bring to a boil then reduce the heat and simmer for 5-6 hours. Strain the broth and cool it down as quickly as possible by placing it into a sink full of cold water and stirring.

Refrigerate the cooled stock overnight. Skim any fat off the top the mext morning. You will have a gelatinous turkey stock.

From there I usually spoon it into one quart freezer bags and freeze them on a cookie sheet. When frozen they can be stacked in the freezer for later use.

The same process can be used for the soup.

Someone else will be along to provide info on canning.