Jam Problem

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

northland

Assistant Cook
My daughter in law made raspberry jam. According to the instructions on the pectin box. She did every thing right except the last stage was to put the jam jars in boiling water in canner and process 10 minutes. She laddle hot jam and then let them sit and cool down. The jars did pop and seal, but I'am wondering how safe is this. She has been doing it for 2 years now. I just found out. Can I reopen jam and just add new lids and process in canner for the 10 minutes or what to do?:chef:

If the jars were sterile to begin with you should likely be OK. The lids sealed so I think you're fine. I don't think I would reprocess them myself but others might tell you differently.

I never use the hot water bath unless they don't seal on the counter. I've been doing it myself for 10 years and I apprenticed under Mom for another 25.

The only thing you must remember if you don't go through the pasteurizing process (Boiling Water Bath) is that no bacteria, yeast, or mold spores have been killed and they will eventually grow in the jar, if present.

You won't die from a contaminated jar, but you could get sick depending on how good/bad your immune system is. Not all spoilage is visible.

I'm sorry to disagree with others, but NO, this is not safe. It is called "Open Kettle" canning and it's dangerous. The point of the water bath is not to seal the jars, but to sterilize the contents and the jars. 10 minutes of boiling at 212*F does that for high-acid foods.