"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Farm to Table > Canning and Preserving
Click Here to Login

Old 11-09-2019, 03:28 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

New to canning

I am new to canning. I canned some pasta sauce but the lids popped out because I guess I didn't kill off all the bacteria because I didn't get the sauce hot enough. So I watched some youtube videos and I saw that everyone who cans uses some sort of pressure cooker to seal them? I was wondering what the best kind of pressure cooker to get.

Also is it true that you can't use the rubber lid once it has been used?

I like canning not for preserving garden veggies, but it just makes it easy. If I make pasta sauce or soups I don't have to spend a lot of time cooking. I just grab one of the jars and heat it up and eat.

jayinwww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 03:47 PM   #2
Executive Chef

Im definitely not an expert, as this was my first year and I did it several times. Mostly tomatoes ( both quartered and puree). and then pickles.

I do not have a pressurized canner, just hot water bath.

I kept it at a low boil for the required period of time, and they all sealed.

Just wondering if you got it up to temp, didn't keep it at the temp for a required period of time or if it got contaminated.

ID wait for someone more experienced canning experience to give you a better answer.

larry_stewart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 03:57 PM   #3
Chef Extraordinaire

To can safely, it's very important to follow a tested recipe. You don't have to pressure-can pasta sauce - unless there's meat in it - but you do have to acidify it to prevent botulinum bacteria from growing and spoiling your food.

If you want to can soups and sauces that contain meat, you will need a pressure CANNER - not a pressure COOKER.

Yes, the lids can only be used once, but the rings are reusable as long as they're not bent or rusted.