"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Farm to Table > Canning and Preserving

Old 06-27-2011, 11:24 AM   #1
Assistant Cook

Oops, no-pectin jam didn't set. What should I do?

I'm a canning newbie, and I made my second batch of no-pectin, low-sugar jam last night. I used the overnight sugar maceration method with a big batch of fresh-picked strawberries.

Tastes great, but it didn't set. I think maybe my quantity of berries was too high compared to the amount of sugar and lemon juice. Or else I tried to make too big a batch (used 7 pounds of berries); however I have a giant preserving pot with lots of surface area, so I don't feel that was necessarily the problem.

What's my next step to rescue my delicious jam?

Thanks!
-Kim

Old 06-27-2011, 12:37 PM   #2
Master Chef

You could use it as a sauce for pancakes, ice-cream, yoghurt etc. Or heat it gently for a few mins and add the pectin.

Old 06-27-2011, 01:28 PM   #3
Senior Cook

Kim -

a bit uncertain as to your preferences with the low sugar, no pectin thing... however, yes it can be "re-processed"

if you do a search on 'reprocess strawberry jam' there's a couple sites with tips on how to do it. however, they all start with a new batch of pectin...

cooking pectin too long can destroy the jelling properties - you need the right pectin, sugar and acid content/relationship to make things work right.
Old 06-27-2011, 01:40 PM   #4
Head Chef

Welcome to DC. I would not try to rescue the strawberry Jam.
I would be showing everyone what beautiful Strawberry Syrup that I made,

Josie
Old 06-27-2011, 01:41 PM   #5
Senior Cook

When this happened to one of my batches of blackberry jam (with pectin) I made icecream with it.
Old 06-27-2011, 04:39 PM   #6
Chef Extraordinaire

Site Moderator

Smoothies with yogurt.
Old 06-27-2011, 04:53 PM   #7
Assistant Cook