Pickling/fermenting crock, what can I sub?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

1984christini

Assistant Cook
I have never done pickles before and keep reading recipe's calling for a pickling crock. These things are super expensive so I will not be purchasing one. I would like to know what else I can put the cucumbers in while they pickle. Also how big does it need to be? The recipe I have which is in a Ball Blue Book guide to preserving needs 2 gallons of water and 10 pounds of cucumbers so I imagine I need a large container or a few smaller ones. I have tons of quart jars, can I use those for pickling? Also, it doesn't say anything about a lid and most recipe's I found say to put a cloth towel over the container. Heeeeelp! I want to make sure I do this right and don't waste my time thinking I am making pickles and in 2 or 3 weeks come to find I've wasted my time! Thanks!

I do a lot of beverage fermenting and sauerkraut making.

There is absolutely no need to spend a lot of money on a container. Any food grade HDPE pail will work fine. I've even seen Rubbermaid Brute trash containers (which, believe it or not, are food grade) used by commercial pickle makers.

There are a number of inexpensive options and Midwest Supplies is a reputable source:
Plastic Fermenters - Fermentation Equipment - Wine Equipment

If you want to go with a ceramic crock, Ohio Stoneware crocks are a good, inexpensive option. I have three of these myself. Note they don't come with a lid, but that's not terribly important. Just put a tea towel over the top. All you really need to do is to keep out dust.

Ohio Stoneware Crocks

Last edited:
The cheapest food grade crocks I have ever found were stacked behind a restaurant. They purchase 5 gallon quantities of many things and the buckets are tossed.

My type of recycling is to use something that would otherwise go into the dump,