"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Farm to Table > Canning and Preserving

Old 05-07-2007, 05:28 AM   #1
Assistant Cook

Preserving TakeAway

Hi all. I am a good cook, and don't usually do this, but last night we went for an indian and couldnt eat it all, so he bagged it up for us.

I popped it in the fridge when i got home.

Just wondering can i eat this today if i cook it thouroughly?

Thanks in advanced. Looks like ill be on this forum alot, i love cooking, looks like a nice forum :)

Old 05-07-2007, 07:24 AM   #2
Sous Chef

I always bring 'doggie' bags home it seems and I never hesitate to heat the next day. (just bring the food up to 140 F. and you're good to go)

and welcome to the forums!!

Old 05-07-2007, 08:23 AM   #3
Executive Chef

Send a message via Yahoo to Michelemarie
Welcome! I see no reason why you cannot eat the food today. Enjoy!
Old 05-07-2007, 09:28 AM   #4
Certified Pretend Chef

Reheat and eat. Never a problem. It's usually good fer several days after your original dinner.
Old 05-07-2007, 10:17 AM   #5
Master Chef

I nearly always bring home a "doggy bag" - regardless of where we eat. Portions today are so huge, there always seems to be enough for a nice lunch the following day.

And Andy is right - just like any other leftover, it should be perfectly fine for even a couple of days afterwards, so don't feel you HAVE to eat it next day if that doesn't fit into your plans.
Old 05-07-2007, 10:17 AM   #6
Assistant Cook

Leftovers are ok. But do be careful if there's coconut milk. One time overnight is fine for keeping and re-warming but not more than 2 days. Stomach upset. The feeling of stomach bloating and fill with air like a balloon. It's my opinion.
Old 05-07-2007, 11:48 AM   #7
Chef Extraordinaire

Site Moderator

Location: I live in the Heartland of the United States - Western Kentucky