Pressure Canner for glass top stove

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

zygirl

Assistant Cook
Hi Folks,

I am looking for suggestions on which pressure canner I should get for a glass top stove. I keep reading about this "automatic shut off" stuff too and I am unsure if my stove has that. I purchased the stove in December of 2013 and it's a Frigidaire. Other than that I have not seen anything in the manual (but it's quite a large manual and I certainly didn't read all of it).

I have limited knowledge of canning and I want to do it right. To boot, I'm immune compromised so I need to be very careful. However I planted 30 tomato plants this year and I really would love to have home grown tomato sauce to enjoy all winter.

Sent from my iPhone using Discuss Cooking

I think the problem is that canners are big and heavy and might crack the glass.

How about a separate burner for the canner--induction or just electric? Be sure you get one with enough output--it takes a lot to bring water and jars of food to temperature. And be careful where you put it--I am sure that it would produce enough heat to damage a formica countertop.

Lots of canners on this site, so be sure to ask if you have questions!

I agree that it might crack the glass, and will scratch it up pretty easily too. Mine gets very heavy, and the instructions tell me to always Lift it to put it on a burner, because if you slide it, it will damage your stove (and they were talking about one with gas burners).

That said, you will Love pressure canning!! For years my MIL or husband would do the actual process of it, I'd do the cooking of the sauce and prep the jars, fill the jars, etc. but they would do the actual pressure canning. I finally wanted to learn how to do it myself, and although the steps are Important...it is easy too! You will get a system down and if you stick to it, really it's quite easy.