Pressure canner question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

David_G

Assistant Cook
Hi....sorry if this sounds very basic. I'm new to this. Should I submerge the jars in water in my pressure canner?

I did 6 quart jars of red potatos; brine water topped with 1/2 inch of head space; lids lightly snugged; canner water level up to the shoulder of the jars, and after the pressure boil was done half the brine water was gone from the jars.

What did I do wrong?

David

I was going to jot out that you can submerge the jars but now I want to listen to the experts as I had some canning failures recently as well. Buck up though Dave, someone will have the answers here. It's a great site.

Welcome!

The short answer would be that it sounds like the canner was "force cooled" :

National Center for Home Food Preservation said:
Cooling the canner with cold running water or opening the vent port before the canner is fully depressurized are types of forced cooling. They will also cause loss of liquid from jars and seal failures.

You might read this: Using Pressure Canners

Ah! I had this happen with chili I was trying to can but it turned out to be that I did not use a rack. I had the cans on the bottom of the pot so they "boiled" like any liquid on the bottom of a pot.

Yes......you're right. I let the weight stop jiggling then took it off to bleed the pressure, then into a cool sink of water.
That works for pressure cookers, but pressure canners should never be subjected to any method of rapid cool down -and- after the pressure drops to normal naturally and the regulator removed, one should wait 10 minutes more before removing the lid. This allows the superheated jars to cool down a little before being exposed to the cooler air.