"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Farm to Table > Canning and Preserving

Old 11-17-2009, 02:50 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Question Pressure canner question

Hi....sorry if this sounds very basic. I'm new to this. Should I submerge the jars in water in my pressure canner?

I did 6 quart jars of red potatos; brine water topped with 1/2 inch of head space; lids lightly snugged; canner water level up to the shoulder of the jars, and after the pressure boil was done half the brine water was gone from the jars.

What did I do wrong?

David

Old 11-17-2009, 03:02 PM   #2
Mr. Greenjeans

I was going to jot out that you can submerge the jars but now I want to listen to the experts as I had some canning failures recently as well. Buck up though Dave, someone will have the answers here. It's a great site.

Welcome!

Old 11-17-2009, 04:13 PM   #3
Master Chef

The short answer would be that it sounds like the canner was "force cooled" :

Quote:
Originally Posted by National Center for Home Food Preservation
Cooling the canner with cold running water or opening the vent port before the canner is fully depressurized are types of forced cooling. They will also cause loss of liquid from jars and seal failures.
You might read this: Using Pressure Canners
Old 11-17-2009, 04:40 PM   #4
Assistant Cook

Red face Quick cooling

Yes......you're right. I let the weight stop jiggling then took it off to bleed the pressure, then into a cool sink of water.
Old 11-17-2009, 05:15 PM   #5
Mr. Greenjeans

Ah! I had this happen with chili I was trying to can but it turned out to be that I did not use a rack. I had the cans on the bottom of the pot so they "boiled" like any liquid on the bottom of a pot.
Old 11-17-2009, 05:21 PM   #6
Assistant Cook

Great link, a lot of good information. Thanks
Old 11-17-2009, 06:07 PM   #7
Head Chef

Quote:
Originally Posted by David_G View Post