Questions about Canning Mulberry Juice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

phoebe

Assistant Cook
Hi all,
I'm a newbie at canning. I have some questions about Mulberry Juice. I previously canned 10 quarts, by cooking the mulberrys & straining them, then in a water bath canner for 15 min. I added 1 cup sugar to 1 gallon mulberry juice. I read this somewhere, I don't remember where. It's very tasty stuff & fine as far as that goes. But everytime I read a Mulberry jelly recipe it's says to add lemon juice.

So, I'm wondering is the stuff I canned already O.K. without the lemon juice? If I should add lemon juice, how much to a quart would I add? Any reason to add more sugar? It tastes good to me, but to be safe for canning purposes. To be on the safe side, should I boil it for 10 mins before I drink the stuff already canned? Read somewhere that would kill botulism.

Sorry for the million & one questions, I can find load of recipes for jams & jellies, but none so far on mulberry juice.

Thanks in advance for any advice!!

Okay, I'm a little confused. Were you making "juice" or "Jelly"?

The lemon juice is an optional addition to increase the acidity of the fruit to help in the preservation since some fruits are lower acidity than others. You would need to research Mulberry's to find out how acidic they are. It "could" affect the long-term storage of the jars, especially since you used very little sugar in your recipe.

If you were just making "juice", most generic recipes for fruit juices should work with the Mulberry Juice.

If you were attempting to make "jelly", I would like to know the recipe you were working from and what kind of pectin you used, if any.