Tomatoes Galore!! Help me can!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mtnlover14

Assistant Cook
Hey all!

This is my first year on my own and I started a small, but SUPER productive garden. This is also my first year canning. I have done pickles and dilly beans (which hopefully turned out AWESOME!). Now, comes the tomatoes. I am loaded with big boys, cherries, yellow pears, and an unknown type from a plant my brother gave me.. smaller than a big boy, bigger than a cherry, and delish! I would like to can as much as possible (without a pressure canner). Anyone have any good recipes/suggestions for tomato sauces, crushed tomatoes, stewed tomatoes?? I've got a ton of fresh herbs too, esp basil that I would love to throw in. Any way to can the little guys too?

Thanks a bunnnchhh! :rolleyes:

I have tomatoes as well. I don't can but I adore red meat sauce. I take tomatoes cut the big ones in halves of 4's then put n a baking sheet, salt and pepper and olive oil drizzled over add a little chopped garli and roast til the wilt and give off juice. Put through a food mill if you dont want the skin or seeds ,freeze. the next tim you nnd tomatoes for pasta sauce your set.
kadesma

Kadesma-

That sounds sooo good!! I think with the little guys, I may slow roast and freeze.. toss in salads and pasta. Hmm. Good thing it will feel like fall this weekend! Perfect to open all the windows and spend a day in the kitchen!

Kadesma-

That sounds sooo good!! I think with the little guys, I may slow roast and freeze.. toss in salads and pasta. Hmm. Good thing it will feel like fall this weekend! Perfect to open all the windows and spend a day in the kitchen!
I use my grape tomatoes to roast they are wonderful and make a great pasta sauce so sweet and good
kadesma:)