What types of soups freeze well?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

philipb

Assistant Cook
Hello,

I'm a big fan of making soups, but I've had some hit and miss experiences with freezing them - soups that just defrost all chunky, a different texture, and just all in all not enjoyable for round 2. In general, what types of soups freeze well? Any recipe suggestions? Thanks!

:wacko:
Hello,

I'm a big fan of making soups, but I've had some hit and miss experiences with freezing them - soups that just defrost all chunky, a different texture, and just all in all not enjoyable for round 2. In general, what types of soups freeze well? Any recipe suggestions? Thanks!

i have frozen chicken soup,french onion soup, beans and ham soup. they all were great when defrosted. i put them in lg. freezer bags. mostly to save space in freezer.

babe

The only soups I DON'T freeze are those with cream or milk bases like chowders, biques, etc. I have had pretty good success.

Let's try it from the other end ... what soups have you had problems with, philipb? I don't generally freeze cream/milk based soups - but I've never had a problem with anything else. I can't imagine a soup that would "defrost all chunky" that wasn't chunky to begin with - and change in texture has a lot of possibilities ...

I had problems with a prawn bisque (cream) but never a problem with my potato and leek (again cream). Otherwise, freezing soups hasn't been a problem.

And welcome to DC!

I guess I had never been told the rule that milk/cream-based soups don't freeze well; a couple potatoe-y, creamy soups were casualties. Also, the soups that I tried to freeze that came back with very different (almost sludgey, not very appealing) textures were all soups with rice or barley. So, I'm guessing that those don't freeze to well either. What about bean soups? Chilis? Or lentils?