Where to get jars?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

niteowl64

Assistant Cook
Hi All,
Total newbie to canning but with some help from my mother, i am hoping to can strawberries and other thing. She has not done it in years and years so her memory is a little rusty.

I am sure this question has been answered but i have not been able to find it on the forum. I went to a local store for mason jars. And while they are mason jars by name, the glass seems to me to be much thinner than I recall from my youth. I'm wondering if all "mason jars" are ok to use for canning or if there is a certain kind that I should not use (too thin, might crack). I'm unable to order supplies online so I have to buy at stores where I live in Rhode Island and I have no idea the best place to go. Hardware store? garden section of Wal-mart? Job Lot?

Any suggestions from those of you out there?

If it's a Mason brand jar, it should be fine. Ball brand jars also are good. See if you can get hold of the Ball Canning book. It's full of useful info.

it's good to know about the mason jars. I had gotten them at a shop here called "the Christmas Tree Shoppe". Kind of like a better version of Job Lot and i was nervous that the jars were more for some kind of decoration rather than canning use.

Might you know of a chain store that carries the Ball jars? I honestly don't even know the type of store to look for them in.

Its not quite canning season yet, but soon you won't be able to walk through a store without tripping on them. Try any Walmart, or most grocery stores.

I think you should go to a grocery store and ask at costumer service.
Also if you have a dollar store near you, you can visit their.

Last edited: