Sponge?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kenny1999

Senior Cook
I've been using sponge with detergent to clean dishes for many years but
I never understand why they usually come with two sides, one side is green and the softer side is yellow. I almost always don't use the yellow side, and use only the green side because it feels better when cleaning up things

What are the uses of the yellow side??
scrub-sponge-500x500.jpg

The yellow side is sponge. It's for general cleaning. The green side is a scouring pad attached to the sponge for scrubbing difficult dirt/food on pots and pans. It should NOT be used on non-stick (Teflon) surfaces as it will rub it off. Think of it as a sponge and SOS pad combo.

There is also a blue version with a light blue sponge and a dark blue scouring pad surface. The blue scouring surface is Teflon safe.

I don't think the kitchen police are concerned with which side you use as long as you are aware of the product's limitations.

The yellow side is sponge. It's for general cleaning. The green side is a scouring pad attached to the sponge for scrubbing difficult dirt/food on pots and pans. It should NOT be used on non-stick (Teflon) surfaces as it will rub it off. Think of it as a sponge and SOS pad combo.

There is also a blue version with a light blue sponge and a dark blue scouring pad surface. The blue scouring surface is Teflon safe.

I don't think the kitchen police are concerned with which side you use as long as you are aware of the product's limitations.

Could the green side also make scratches to other cookware in addition to non-stick pan? I don't use non-stick pans

I have some plastics (maybe PP) dishes that are badly scratched (if you look closely) was it due to cleaning with the green side

Last edited: