How much is lamb?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

carver922

Assistant Cook
Hello,
I am new to cooking lamb, I saw it in a cook book and thought I would give it a shot. How much is 8 lamb ribs. Since we are on the subject of how much things are, does anybody know also how much a 4 -6 pound duck is?

Carver, around here, lamb is $8-12 a pound...when you can find it. Too rich for my blood.
Besides, I have what's left of 350 lbs of venison in my freezer from last fall. Goodness knows what it cost a pound...my husband says, "Don't Ask!"
:neutral:

prices will vary by season and location. Lamb can be pricey (fancy cuts like a crown rack, or fine loin chops) It can also be moderate (shanks) or dirt cheap (shoulder chops and neck bones) THe fine quality is grand for roasting and grilling and will run as much as $8.99+ a pound. THe cheaper end can be as low as $1.59 a pound.

DUck tends to be sold frozen in my area and runs in the $2.99 + a pound range most of the time.

Good quality lamb is real nice med rare. Duck is all dark meat. Lamb goes well with garlic, rosemary, oregano, onion, mint, lemon. roast potatoes and a green.
Duck goes well with parsnip, orange, lingonberries, wild rice. Domestic duck tends to be fatty, so prick the skin as it roasts and drain off the fat. The skin will get nice and crispy.

Constance said:
Carver, around here, lamb is $8-12 a pound...when you can find it. Too rich for my blood.
Besides, I have what's left of 350 lbs of venison in my freezer from last fall. Goodness knows what it cost a pound...my husband says, "Don't Ask!"
:neutral:

LOLOLOLOL! The deer is cheap.
It's the hunting that is expensive!!:)

You got that right, pdswife. By the time you buy permits for 2 men for each season (we have 4 here in Southern Illinois), hunting gear, ammunition, etc, hunting is quite an investment.